Most of this site's functionality requires JavaScript to be enabled.

Invalid email/password
Log In
The Waiting Hours
Shandi Mitchell
Paperback | Apr 2019
in store $24.95
(more on order)
Henry, Himself
Stewart O'Nan
Hardcover | Apr 2019
in store $36.00
The American Agent
Jacqueline Winspear
Paperback | Mar 2019
in store $22.99
The Bookshop of the Broken Hearted
Robert Hillman
Paperback | Apr 2019
in store $24.95
Alice's Island
Daniel Sanchez Arevalo
Hardcover | Apr 2019
in store $37.00
A Woman Is No Man
Etaf Rum
Hardcover | Mar 2019
in store $33.50
The Parade
Dave Eggers
Hardcover | Mar 2019
in store $29.95
Daisy Jones & The Six
Taylor Jenkins Reid
Paperback | Mar 2019
in store $24.95
 

MARCH NEWS


Happy spring! It's April, which means it's National Poetry Month. We have a selection of poetry books in store, from our own local poets to those up for awards.

Coming up on April 27 is Canadian Independent Bookstore Day. We've got lots of fun things planned at our little bookshop. Authors will be popping in and out all day long. You never know who you might meet, so stop by! We'll be offering double loyalty points on regularly priced books as well as two special deals: 3 for $12 paperback specials and 2 for $10 hardcover specials on select titles. Finally, spend $50 on anything in store and receive a $5 coupon to be used between May 1–31, 2019.

It's not too early to start thinking about Mother's Day. As always, we're happy to make personalized recommendations for the mothers in your life, or see our Staff Picks list below for what we're reading and loving this month. 

And we're very happy to announce that author Anakana Schofield will visit us on May 21 at 1 pm to talk about her new book Bina. This powerful novel is about Bina, an ordinary-extraordinary woman who is writing out her life story on the backs of envelopes. Please RSVP by phone (416-233-2665) or email as space is limited.

 

STAFF PICKS

 

The Waiting Hours by Shandi Mitchell, a novel about three people—a nurse, a police offer, and a 911 dispatcher—who are connected by a tragedy that will force them to make choices that affect lives. Releases April 30. (Sarah)

Henry, Himself by Stewart O'Nan, a wry, compassionate novel about a retired man looking back on his life as the 20th century comes to a close. A companion title to Emily, Alone(Chris)

The American Agent by Jacqueline Winspear, the latest mystery in the Maisie Dobbs series, which finds Maisie investigating the murder of an American war correspondent during the London Blitz. (Diane)

The Bookshop of the Broken Hearted by Robert Hillman, a tender novel about a man in rural 1960s Australia who falls for a new arrival to town, a woman determined to open a bookstore though she is haunted by her past. (Susan)

Alice's Island by Daniel Sánchez Arévalo, a vivid new thriller about a woman who must question everything she thought she knew about her marriage when her husband turns up dead hundreds of miles from where he was supposed to be. (Mary)

A Woman is No Man by Etaf Rum, a novel about a Palestinian woman sent to Brooklyn to marry someone of her father's choosing, and years later, her oldest daughter, who grapples with her own questions about their family's past. Our April Novel Nights Book Club pick. (Katie and Sarah)

The Parade by Dave Eggers, a timely new novel about two contractors sent to a country recovering from a long civil war with the task of building a new highway — and the danger and corruption they encounter. (Helen)

Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid, a novel written as an oral history of an influential 1970s rock band that broke up after one groundbreaking album. Perfect for fans of Fleetwood Mac! (Kathleen)

 
 

NEW NON-FICTION

The Lost Gutenberg by Margaret Leslie Davis, the fascinating true story of one of only 50 copies of the original Gutenberg Bible, and its 500 year history of being passed from monks to scholars to collectors to a nuclear physicist. 

Sea People: The Puzzle of Polynesia by Christina Thompson, a blend of history, geography, and anthropology that explores the history of the islands of the Pacific and the first Polynesians to find and occupy them.
 
Ten Caesars by Barry Strauss, the story of the Roman Empire from its founder Augustus to Constantine, who made it Christian. 

Save Me the Plums by Ruth Reichl, the beloved food writer and restaurant critic's memoir about her tenure as the editor-in-chief of Gourmet

FOR YOUNG READERS

Picture book: Felipe and Claudette by Mary Teague, the story of a cat and dog who are waiting at an animal shelter to be chosen for their forever homes. 

Middle grade: The Unteachables by Gordan Korman, a standalone novel about a class of misfits and miscreants. 

Young adult: Opposite of Always by Justin A. Reynolds, a novel about a teenage boy who is sent back in time to relive his relationship over and over after his girlfriend dies.

SPRING BESTSELLERS

A Gentleman in Moscow, Amor Towles
A Woman Is No Man, Etaf Rum
The Huntress, Kate Quinn
The American Agent, Jacqueline Winspear
(tie) The Gown, Jennifer Robson and Heat Wave, Maureen Jennings

 


MARCH NEWS


Even though it's still grey and cold, and summer feels a long way off, March Break is upon us. Whether you're headed for sunny climes or the slopes, or relaxing at home, there are tons of new and wonderful books for you to escape with. See our Staff Picks below for the best of what we're reading right now. Plus, Canada Reads is just around the corner, and we have all the shortlisted books in stock.  

And remember to check out the Events page on our website for the most updated information about author visits. There's nothing new scheduled right now, but may have some special guests stopping by the shop soon, so do stay tuned.

 

STAFF PICKS


The Huntress by Kate Quinn, a captivating historical novel about an English journalist and a female Russian bomber pilot who must work together to track down a Nazi war criminal known as the Huntress. By the author of The Alice Network(Sarah)

The Wartime Sisters by Lynda Cohen Loigman, a novel about two estranged sisters, one an officer's wife and the other a war widow, who end up working at the same armoury during the Second World War as secrets from their past come to light. (Mary)

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides, a thriller about a famous artist who shoots her husband and then refuses to explain why she did it, and the criminal psychotherapist who is desperate to uncover what really happened. (Diane)

The Border by Don Winslow, the last novel in a bestselling trilogy about Art Keller, a DEA agent on the frontline of the war against drugs for over 40 years, and the new generation of drug traffickers he's trying to bring down. (Susan)

The Monk of Mokha by Dave Eggers, the story of a young Yemeni-American man, Mokhtar, who dreams of bringing the art of Yemeni coffee to San Francisco but is trapped on a research trip to Yemen and must find a way home. (Chris)

Gingerbread by Helen Oyeyemi, an inventive new novel about a family whose legacy is an ancient gingerbread recipe, and the mother and daughter responsible for safeguarding it in mysterious circumstances. (Katie)

Vox by Christina Dalcher, a haunting and timely novel set in a future America where women are banned from holding jobs and limited to speaking 100 words a day, and the woman who decides to do whatever it takes to protect her daughter. (Helen)

 
 

NEW NON-FICTION

It's never too early to start planning your garden! With that in mind, we recommend The Kitchen Garden by Alan Buckingham and Beginner Gardening Step by Step from DK Publishing to get you in the mood for spring and fresh produce. We also recommend Peter Wohlleben's new book The Secret Wisdom of Nature, about the natural systems that make life possible, such as deciduous trees that can affect the rotation of the earth.  

Rounding out our list: A Girl Named Lovely, journalist Catherine Porter's memoir about her friendship with a Haitian girl, Lovely, who survived the 2010 earthquake; Madame Fourcade's Secret War by Lynne Olson, the little-known story of the woman who headed the largest spy network in occupied France. 

FOR YOUNG READERS

This month's featured picture book is Barnaby Never Forgets by Pierre Collet-Derby, about a bunny who has a very good memory... until he loses something.

For middle-grade readers, we recommend The Storm Keeper's Island by Catherine Doyle, about a boy whose family is tied to a mysterious, magical island; A World Below by Wesley King, about a class trip to Carlsbad Caverns that turns into an underground quest for survival; and a new boxed set of Homer's The Iliad and The Odyssey, retold for children by Gillian Cross with illustrations by Neil Packer.

FEBRUARY'S BESTSELLERS

The Book Artist, Mark Pryor
The Lost Girls of Paris, Pam Jenoff
Song of a Captive Bird, Jasmin Darznik
The Very Marrow of Our Bones, Christine Higdon
The Gown, Jennifer Robson AND In the Shadow of 10,000 Hills, Jennifer Haupt

 

 

 

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER!

* indicates required